

D3football.com 2021 All-Region 6 Team

Balanganayi, Smith headline postseason regional honors

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MINNEAPOLIS – Mackenzie Balanganayi and Wyatt Smith lead the D3football.com 2021 All-Region 6 team. Balanganayi was named Region 6 Defensive Player of the Year, while Smith was named the Region 6 Offensive Player of the Year.

UW-Whitewater coach Kevin Bullis, who has led the Warhawks to a 13-0 record and a berth in the national semifinals, is the Region 6 Coach of the Year. It's his first selection as a D3football.com regional Coach of the Year and he is the third Warhawks coach to win a regional Coach of the Year award.

NCAA Division III realigned Division III football into six regions in 2021. Region 6 includes the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, the Northwest Conference, the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference and the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Balanganayi is a regional Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive time, after being named such in the West Region in 2019. A senior from Palatine, Illinois, he has posted a team-best 11 quarterback hurries and forced two fumbles while compiling eight tackles for loss and six sacks.

Smith is the third Linfield quarterback to be named Offensive Player of the Year for the region by D3football.com. A senior from McMinnville, Oregon, he led the Wildcats to an 11-1 record and a berth in the national quarterfinals by throwing for 3,717 yards and 43 touchdowns against just four interceptions. Smith averaged 309.8 yards per game and completed 71.3% of his passes. He also ran for six touchdowns.

The teams, selected in balloting by Region 6 sports information directors and D3football.com staff, were chosen from 165 nominations by full Division III member schools. A total of 76 players were chosen. Players nominated for All-Region are eligible to be considered for D3football.com All-America honors, which will be announced the evening of Dec. 17, in D3football.com's pregame coverage for Stagg Bowl XLVIII.

For more information please contact D3football.com Executive Editor Pat Coleman at 612-237-4855 or by e-mail at pat.coleman@d3sports.com.

Previous years' award winners from 2005-2019 for All-West Region can be found at: https://www.d3football.com/awards/all-region/all-time-west

The teams follow:



D3football.com 2021 All-Region 6 Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Wyatt Smith, QB, Linfield Defensive Player of the Year: Mackenzie Balanganayi, DE, UW-Whitewater Coach of the Year: Kevin Bullis, UW-Whitewater For more about Division III football, visit www.d3football.com.

First Team Offense First Team Defense Pos.Player School Yr. Hometown Pos.Player School Yr. Hometown QB Wyatt Smith Linfield Sr. McMinnville, Ore. DE Travis Swanson Sr. Hailey, Idaho Linfield RB Alex Peete UW-Whitewater Sr. Ringwood, Ill. DT Michael Wozniak St. John's Jr. New Hope, Minn. **RB** Paul Garrett Greenville Goodwater, Ala. Zachary Jakes Gustavus Adolphus Sr. N. Mankato, Minn. Jr. DT Sr. Lake Elsinore, Calif. WR Ravi Alston St. John's DF Mackenzie Balanganayi UW-Whitewater Sr. Palatine, III. Sr. Orange, Calif. WR Ryan Wisniewski UW-Whitewater Sr. Sparta, Wis. LB Dillon Keefe Chapman Woodbury, Minn. UW-Whitewater Naperville, III. TE Alex Larson St. John's Jr. LB Ryan Liszka Jr. Т Kyle Gannon UW-Whitewater Sr. Waukesha, Wis. LB Kameron Kryzanski UW-Stevens Point Sr. Thorp, Wis. UW-Whitewater UW-Whitewater So. St. Charles, Ill. G Douglas Kosch Sr. Bridgeview, III. CB Egon Hein С Nick Neumann St. John's Sr. Inver Grove Hts, Minn. S Nate Farm Bethel So. Arden Hills. Minn. G Julien Sears Linfield Sr. Spokane Valley, Wash. S Elijah Alt UW-La Crosse Sr. Lone Rock, Wis. Sr. Ventura, Calif. СВ Jacob Lyle Claremont-M-S **Tavion Swanson** Sr. Burlington, Wash. Т Bethel Brady Frantal UW-Eau Claire Fr. Appleton, Wis. Ρ Tyler Huettel St. Olaf Fr. McKinney, Texas Κ **RETJake Simuncak** Sr. S. Milwaukee, Wis. ST Sr. Highland Village, UW-La Crosse John Newton Macalester Texas Second Team Offense Second Team Defense Sr. Red Wing, Minn. QB Max Meylor UW-Whitewater Sr. Mt. Horeb, Wis. DE Seth Morem St. John's RB Joey Stutzman Chase Lydig Sr. Buckley, Wash. UW-La Crosse Jr. Lake Zurich, III. DT Linfield RB Henry Trost So. Stockton, Calif. St. John's Sr. Lindstrom, Minn. DT Turjon McLaurin Greenville WR Dominic Smith DE Ted Androli UW-River Falls Sr. Kenyon, Minn. Augsburg Fr. White Bear Lake, Minn. WR Levy Hamer UW-Stout Jr. Chicago, III. LB Kyle Kornovich St. John's Sr. Rogers, Minn. TE Ben Beise **UW-River Falls** Sr. Loretto, Minn. LB Jaylen Gonzales Whitworth Sr. Wai'anea, Hawaii Tyler Johnson St. John's Sr. Willmar, Minn. LB Carson Dekam Gustavus Adolphus So. Owatonna, Minn. Т Jack Fiedler Sr. St. Michael, Minn. СВ Tyler Sitton Linfield Sr. McMinnville, Ore. G Bethel С Matt Metcalf Linfield Sr. Eugene, Ore. S Mark McGrath UW-Whitewater Sr. Lisle, III. UW-Oshkosh Brooklyn, Wis. S Capitola, Calif. G Hunter Schulz Sr. Scott Tinsley Redlands Jr. Portola Valley, Calif. CB Colton Chelin Т Alex Waddell Chapman Sr. Whitworth Sr. Kennewick, Wash. Κ Andrew Abegglen Gustavus Adolphus Jr. Mound, Minn. Ρ Jason Santoni George Fox Sr. Central Point, Ore. Carleton Sr. St. Michael, Minn. **RETTravis Brown** Third Team Defense Third Team Offense Jr. Alexandria, Minn. Willamette QB Jaran Roste Bethel DE Keaton Adams Sr. Colo. Springs, Colo. **RB** Justin Edwards Claremont-M-S Fr. E. Hampton, Conn. DT Nick Severson Linfield So. Sherwood. Ore. **RB** Austin Belot UW-Eau Claire Sr. Neenah. Wis. Metoriah Faoliu St. John's Sr. Wildomar. Calif. DT Sr. Evergreen, Colo. UW-Whitewater WR Rex Desso Macalester DE Kyle Gallagher Jr. Niles, III. WR Jake Simuncak UW-La Crosse Sr. S. Milwaukee, Wis. Isaac Simons LB Carleton Jr. Oconomowoc, Wis. Tony Jandrin TE Justin Kasuboski UW-Oshkosh Sr. Omro, Wis. LB UW-Oshkosh Jr. Forestville. Wis. Alex Klecker **UW-River Falls** So. River Falls. Wis. LB Josh Poppleton George Fox Sr. Beaverton. Ore. Т Sr. Bakersfield, Calif. Brett Schuler George Fox Ezekiel Sundberg Gustavus Adolphus Sr. Lakewood, Colo. G CB С Mike Olsen UW-Oshkosh Sr. Hartland, Wis. S Travis Brown Carleton Sr. St. Michael, Minn. S G Travis Sinclair Bethel Rogers, Minn. Tyler Bergeron Linfield Sr. Battle Ground, Wash. Jr. Andrew Owczarzak Martin Luther Т Sr. Bay City, Mich. CB Lucas Schwin George Fox Sr. Eugene, Ore. Jason Santoni George Fox Sr. Central Point, Ore. Ρ Owen Tapia Chapman Jr. Eastvale, Calif. Κ **RETJustin Montijo** George Fox Sr. Hesperia, Calif.